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For further information, please visit the Oklahoma Employment Security Commission website.

Who is normally eligible for unemployment insurance?

The Unemployment Compensation program (UC, Unemployment Insurance, or Ul) pays insurance
payments to workers who become involuntarily unemployed for economic reasons, including COVID-19.
The program generally does not provide insurance payments to the self-employed, those who are unable
to work, or those who do not have a recent earnings history. Oklahoma disqualifies claimants who lost
their jobs because of inability to work, voluntarily quit without good cause, were discharged for job-related
misconduct, or refused suitable work without good cause, unless related to COVID-19.

What is the Pandemic Unemployment Assistance program?

What is the Pandemic Unemployment Assistance program? The CARES Act created a Pandemic
Unemployment Assistance (PUA) program, a new temporary, federal Ul program for individuals not
otherwise eligible for Ul benefits (e.g., self-employed, independent contractors, gig economy workers).
PUA would provide up to 39 weeks of federally financed Ul benefits to unemployed workers who (1) are
ineligible for any other state or federal Ul benefit; (2) meet conditions related to being unemployed,
partially unemployed, or unable to work due to COVID-19; and (3) are not able to telework and not
receiving any paid leave. The PUA maximum duration of 39 weeks would be offset by any weeks of other
Ul benefits payable to an individual; including regular, state Unemployment Compensation (UC), Pandemic
Emergency Unemployment Compensation, or Extended Benefits. PUA would pay benefits for weeks of
unemployment, partial unemployment, or inability to work beginning on or after March 28, 2020, PUA
benefits could be paid retroactively. The PUA benefit amount would be the weekly benefit amount as
calculated under state law based on recent earnings (subject to the minimum benefit under Disaster
Unemployment Assistance [DUA], which is half of the state's average weekly UC benefit amount). The
state's weekly average benefit amount for April 1,2020 - June 30, 2020 is $386.15.

What is the weekly benefit available in Oklahoma?

The amount of the benefit is 1/23 of the highest quarter of taxable wages in your base income not to
exceed the maximum weekly benefit amount allowed by Oklahoma law. Taxable wages are wages during
your base period that are subject to the unemployment tax. This is a tax paid by your employer and is not
taken from your paycheck. If eligible, the weekly benefit amount will not be less than $16 or more than the
maximum allowed by law. In 2020, the maximum weekly benefit amount was $539. The average weekly
benefit amount is $386.15 in Oklahoma.

Is there an additional $600 available?

Yes, the bill provides an additional, federally financed $600 benefit that would be in addition to all weekly
Ul benefits. This $600 would be payable for weeks of unemployment ending on or before July 31, 2020.
During the period that this payment is authorized, states are prohibited from reducing UC benefit amount
or duration. Added on to the full Ul benefits will be $1,139 per week for those awarded the maximum
benefit.



https://www.lankford.senate.gov/
https://www.ok.gov/oesc/Claimants/

What is the Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation?

The bill creates Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation (PEUC) which would authorize up
to 13 additional weeks of federally financed Ul benefits for individuals who exhaust state and federal Ul
benefits and are able, available, and actively seeking work, subject to COVID-19-related

flexibilities. PEUC would be authorized through the end of December 2020. The PEUC benefit amount
would be the WBA as calculated under state law. All PEUC benefits would be increased $600 a week by
Federal Pandemic Unemployment Compensation through July 2020.

What information will the self-employed and independent contractors need to provide to
receive unemployment insurance under this new program?

States will follow their traditional process to determine eligibility for unemployment insurance, using
wage records they already have for this purpose. For those for whom the state might not have wage
data, the person applying will need to provide tax records to document prior earnings (following the
process states use for the Disaster Unemployment Assistance program).

If | was already unemployed, am | eligible for UI?

Nothing in federal law or in the CARES ACT would exclude the unemployed from receiving Ul based
upon their living arrangements, such as a homeless shelter. This program covers individuals who are
self-employed, seeking part-time employment, or otherwise would not qualify for regular UC or
extended benefits under state or federal law or Pandemic Emergency Unemployment Compensation.
Coverage includes individuals who have exhausted all rights to regular UC or extended benefits under
state or federal law or PEUC. Individuals must demonstrate that they are otherwise able to work and
available for work within the meaning of applicable state law, except that they are unemployed,
partially unemployed, or unable or unavailable to work. Eligibility determinations will be made by state
agencies on a case-by-case basis depending on the particular facts presented.

Does an employer have to lay the person off for them to get unemployment insurance
payments?

No. An employer can furlough workers, who will then be eligible for unemployment insurance payments
(this is not a new feature of unemployment insurance). It is also possible for an employer to continue to
pay an employee’s health benefits during a furlough for example, which would still allow the employee
to receive unemployment insurance payments until they are called back to work.

Do unemployment insurance payments count as income?

Yes, unemployment benefits are counted as unearned income for federal tax purposes, and additional
unemployment insurance payments provided by the CARES Act count toward eligibility for means-
tested benefits (other than Medicaid).

Who covers the cost of UC?

The bill provides, through December 2020, 50% federal funding of regular UC benefits based on service
with reimbursing employers, which are state and local governments, Indian tribes, and nonprofit
organizations that have opted not to pay Ul taxes, but instead reimburse states for UC benefits paid to
their former employees. This provision would provide financial relief to these reimbursing employers. It
would also allow Oklahoma flexibility in the timing of required reimbursement payments for these
employers. 100% federal financing is provided through the end of December for UC benefits provided
during the first week of unemployment in state UC programs with no one-week waiting period (thus,
incentivizing states that require one-week waiting periods before receiving UC under state law to removdg
them).




Weren't there Ul provisions in the phase 2 bill as well?

Yes, the Families First Coronavirus Response Act (phase 2) provided states with flexibility in operating

their regular UC program, allowing them to adjust their standard approaches to policies as needed to

respond to the spread of COVID-19 such as work search requirements, requiring individuals have a

“waiting week” not paid by unemployment, and reasons for not working.-

e $1 billion in emergency administrative grant funding to states in calendar year 2020 for
administrative purposes.;

e waivers of certain federal Ul requirements for state UC programs (Section 2106 of the CARES Act
adds merit staffing, in some circumstances, to the list of waived federal Ul requirements);-

e Waivers of interest payments and suspension of interest accrual on federal advances (loans) to
states to pay UC benefits through December 2020; and -

e provides DOL assistance to states in establishing, implementing, and improving STC programs

How do I file for unemployment insurance in Oklahoma?

You can file for unemployment insurance through the Oklahoma Employment Security Commission,
unemployment.gov. If you are unable to file an unemployment form online, you can call 1-800-555-1553
to file a claim by phone.

I was moved from full-time to part-time, am | eligible for unemployment insurance?

Yes, individuals can receive benefits for what's called “partial unemployment.” In Oklahoma,

an individual is considered to be partially unemployed if they are working less than full-time and their
earnings are less than the weekly benefit amount they'd be eligible for if they were unemployed.

Does Oklahoma participate in workshare program?
Oklahoma does not have a workshare program.

How do I file for Unemployment Insurance?
To file a claim for unemployment benefits, Oklahomans may file online at:
https://www.ok.gov/oesc/Claimants/_or you may call the Ul Service Center:

OKC area: 405-525-1500
Outside OKC area: 1-800-555-1554
TTY/TTD calls: 1-800-722-0353 and voice calls at 1-800-522-8506

If you have questions while filing a claim or have questions about unemployment benefits email OESC
Helps at oesc.helps@oesc.state.ok.us.

You will need to provide proof of identification to file. During COIVD-19 stay at home guidelines, ID may
be emailed, mailed, or faxed to OESC.

Email: idverification@oesc.state.ok.us

Mail: OESC, PO Box 52006, Oklahoma City, OK 73152-2006

Fax: 405-962-7524
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