Lankford Commends Abraham Accords Members Israel-Bahrain Defense Agreement

WASHINGTON, DC – Senator James Lankford (R-OK), founding Chair of the Senate Abraham Accords Caucus, today offered his support and praise for the announcement that Israel and Bahrain have entered into a defense cooperation agreement that fosters the goals of the US-brokered Abraham Accords.

“As a founding Chair of the Abraham Accords Caucus in the Senate, I commend Israel and Bahrain for coming together on a defense cooperation agreement,” said Lankford. “One of the top priorities of the Caucus is to promote security cooperation and defense integration among the existing members of the Accords as we seek to encourage new countries to normalize relations with Israel. Entering into cooperative agreements encourages the normalization of relations with our important ally, Israel, and ensures the US continues to stand behind promoting lasting bonds among our nations. I will continue to advocate for strengthening multilateral defense cooperation between the US and the Abraham Accords countries in the days ahead.”

In September, Lankford commemorated the first anniversary of the signing of the Abraham Accords, which he attended at the White House with President Trump and the leaders of Israel, Bahrain, and the United Arab Emirates.

The Caucus is supported by the Atlantic Council, the Abraham Accords Peace Institute, the American Israel Public Affairs Committee (AIPAC), the Anti-Defamation League, the American Jewish Committee, Hadassah—The Women’s Zionist Organization of America , the US-Israel Education Association, the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations, the Israel Policy Forum, CUFI Action, the Jewish Federations of North America, and B’nai B’rith International, the Jewish Institute for National Security of America, the Republican Jewish Committee, and the America First Policy Institute.

Lankford was joined in launching the Abraham Accords Caucus by Senators Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Joni Ernst (R-IA), and Cory Booker (D-NJ). The companion House Abraham Accords Caucus is chaired by Representatives Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA), David Trone (D-MD), Ann Wagner (R-MO), and Brad Schneider (D-IL).