Lankford, Heitkamp Dedicate the Week of May 3 as Public Service Recognition Week

WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Senators James Lankford (R-OK) and Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND) honored the vital work of federal, state, county, and local government employees and members of the uniformed services across the nation by passing a bipartisan resolution designating May 3 – 9, 2015 as Public Service Recognition Week.


As Ranking Member and Chairman of the Senate Subcommittee which oversees the federal workforce, Heitkamp and Lankford will continue to lead efforts to make the federal government more efficient and effective. This includes supporting a federal workforce that can meet the fluid demands in North Dakota, Oklahoma and across the country.


“I have tremendous appreciation for the work of our public service employees especially those in the uniformed services,” said Lankford. “Civil servants and those in uniform alike, dedicate their lives to quietly serving the American people through public policy, public safety and governance. During Public Service Recognition Week, we take a moment to thank the workers across the entire government and offer our gratitude for their commitment to our nation.” 


“Whether it’s the police officers who keep our communities safe, the teachers who educate our children, the park rangers who tend to states’ beautiful landscapes, or the members of our uniformed services who serve our country every day, public service employees play critical roles in our communities and states,” said Heitkamp. “Public Service Recognition Week is a chance to thank the hardworking federal, state, county and local employees who help individuals and families in their communities every day and work hard to make sure our communities run efficiently.”


For over thirty years, Public Service Recognition Week has been hosted by the Public Employees Roundtable to help honor federal, state, county and local government employees who are critical to running our communities. Click here for more information about events and ways to celebrate Public Service Recognition Week.  


Senators Heitkamp and Lankford were joined in sponsoring the bipartisan Public Service Recognition Week Resolution by Senators Tom Carper (D-DE), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Jon Tester (D-MT), Chris Coons (D-DE), Kelly Ayotte (R-NH), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Benjamin Cardin (D-MD), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Bernard Sanders (I-VT), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), and Gary Peters (D-MI).