If you were impacted by storms on April 27 or May 6, CLICK HERE to find resources available for recovery.

Lankford Introduces Legislation to Make Adoption Tax Credit Refundable

WASHINGTON, DC – Senators James Lankford (R-OK), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), and Bob Casey (D-PA) introduced the Adoption Tax Credit Refundability Act, which would restore the refundable portion of adoption tax credit and support families wishing to adopt by easing the associated financial costs. Additionally, the legislation will make thousands of adoptive families eligible for the full credit.

“The cost of adoption should not stand in the way of children uniting with safe, permanent families. By easing the financial burden on adoptive families, the Adoption Tax Credit Refundability Act will help more children find a love-filled forever home,” said Lankford. 

“As many adoptive families know, the financial cost of an adoption can be significant. This tax credit is an important benefit to encourage prospective families to adopt. Shifting it from nonrefundable to refundable will allow families who experience the joy of adoption to take full advantage of the credit, regardless of their tax burden,” said Cramer.

“The more children that are adopted by loving families, the better off our Nation is,” said Casey. “The Adoption Tax Credit has been a proven success in increasing families’ ability to offer permanent homes to adoptive children and this bill will allow more families to experience the joy of expanding their family through adoption.”

While the American Taxpayer Relief Act made the adoption tax credit permanent, it did not extend the credit’s refundability provisions which were available in 2010 and 2011. The Adoption Tax Credit Refundability Act would restore the refundable portion.

This legislation is co-sponsored by Senators Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), John Fetterman (D-PA), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Jim Risch (R-ID), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Tim Scott (R-SC), Debbie Stabenow (D-MI), Chris Van Hollen (D-MD), Mark Warner (D-VA), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Roger Wicker (R-MS), and Ron Wyden (D-OR).