If you were impacted by storms on April 27 or May 6, CLICK HERE to find resources available for recovery.

Lankford Pushes for Protecting AM Radio 

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK – Senators James Lankford (R-OK) joined Edward J. Markey (D-MA), and Ted Cruz (R-TX), in support of the AM Radio for Every Vehicle Act, whichnow has support from 60 members of the Senate. The legislation would direct the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) to require automakers to maintain AM broadcast radio in their new vehicles at no additional charge. The House legislation has 246 co-sponsors.  

“Emergency alerts save lives and AM radio ensures that drivers can hear them as soon as possible. If you’re on a road trip or driving to work, you shouldn’t be blocked from having access to news, music, sports, or weather because of the kind of car you drive. The AM Radio for Every Vehicle Act will keep AM radio in cars across America,” said Lankford.

“Democrats and Republicans are tuning in to the millions of listeners, thousands of broadcasters, and countless emergency management officials who depend on AM radio in their vehicles. AM radio is a lifeline for people in every corner of the United States to get news, sports, and local updates in times of emergencies. Our commonsense bill makes sure this fundamental, essential tool doesn’t get lost on the dial. With a filibuster-proof supermajority in the Senate, Congress should quickly take it up and pass it,” said Markey and Cruz.

Cosponsors in the Senate include: Senators Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), John Barrasso (R-WY), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), John Boozman (R-AR), Katie Britt (R-AL), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), Ted Budd (R-NC), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Robert Casey (D-PA), Susan Collins (R-ME), Catherine Cortez Masto (D-NV), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), Steve Daines (R-MT), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Kirsten Gillibrand (D-NY), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), John Hoeven (R-ND), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), John Kennedy (R-LA), Angus King (I-ME), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Jeff Merkley (D-OR), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Chris Murphy (D-CT), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), Jack Reed (D-RI), Pete Ricketts (R-NE), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Bernie Sanders (I-VT), Rick Scott (R-FL), Jeanne Shaheen (D-NH), Kirsten Sinema (I-AZ), Tina Smith (D-MN), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Jon Tester (D-MT), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), J.D. Vance (R-OH), Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-RI), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Ron Wyden (D-OR), and Todd Young (R-IN).