If you were impacted by storms on April 27 or May 6, CLICK HERE to find resources available for recovery.

Lankford, Senate Colleagues Commemorate National Police Week

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK – Senator James Lankford (R-OK) joined his US Senate colleagues today in unanimously adopting a resolution marking National Police Week and reiterating support for the men and women in law enforcement.

“Oklahoma law enforcement officers have our back every day. People in our state often stop and thank our officers, but during National Police Week we remind law enforcement and their families that we will always have their back as well,” said Lankford. “I am grateful for the men and women that bravely answer the call of duty to protect all of us each and every day. The daily sacrifices that they and their families make cannot be fully understood unless you have put on the badge and walked out the door to serve.  I hope Americans will join me this week in thanking law enforcement officers and remembering those who have given their lives in the line of duty.” 

The resolution honors the 576 law enforcement officers who were killed in the line of duty in 2021, including nearly 400 who died from COVID-19, as well as the 92 lost to date in 2022.  Last year marked the most intentional killings of police since the September 11, 2001, attacks. In the face of an ongoing pandemic and rise in violent crime, law enforcement personnel continue to answer the call, serving their communities, often at great risk to themselves.

The resolution designates the week of May 15 through May 21, 2022, as “National Police Week,” and expresses unwavering support for law enforcement officers across the United States in the pursuit of preserving safe and secure communities.

Along with Lankford, the resolution is cosponsored by Sens. Chuck Grassley (R-IA), Dick Durbin (D-IL), Lindsey Graham (R-SC), Angus King (I-ME), Bill Hagerty (R-TN), Catherine Cortez-Masto (D-NV), Susan Collins (R-ME), Richard Blumenthal (D-CT), Roger Wicker (R-MS), Mazie Hirono (D-HI), Shelley Moore Capito (R-WV), Patrick Leahy (D-VT), James Risch (R-ID), Dianne Feinstein (D-CA), Mike Crapo (R-ID), Gary Peters (D-MI), John Hoeven (R-ND), Brian Schatz (D-HI), Tommy Tuberville (R-AL), Maggie Hassan (D-NH), Rand Paul (R-KY), Chris Coons (D-DE), Joni Ernst (R-IA), Sheldon Whitehouse (D-CT), John Thune (R-SD), Jack Reed (D-RI), Deb Fischer (R-NE), Edward Markey (D-MA), John Barrasso (R-WY), Raphael Warnock (D-GA), Rick Scott (R-FL), Kyrsten Sinema (D-AZ), Todd Young (R-IN), Tim Kaine (D-VA), Jim Inhofe (R-OK), Amy Klobuchar (D-MN), Mitch McConnell (R-KY), Mark Kelly (D-AZ), Pat Toomey (R-PA), Jon Tester (D-MT), Ted Cruz (R-TX), Tammy Duckworth (D-IL), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-MS), Tom Carper (D-DE), Steve Daines (R-MT), Michael Bennett (D-CO), Richard Burr (R-NC), Tammy Baldwin (D-WI), Rob Portman (R-OH), Robert Menendez (D-NJ), Bill Cassidy (R-LA), Martin Heinrich (D-NM), Marco Rubio (R-FL), Maria Cantwell (D-WA), Roy Blunt (R-MO), Jacky Rosen (D-NV), Tom Cotton (R-AR), Joe Manchin (D-WV), Roger Marshall (R-KS), Sherrod Brown (D-OH), John Kennedy (R-LA), Dan Sullivan (R-AK), Ben Sasse (R-NE), Kevin Cramer (R-ND), John Cornyn (R-TX), Mike Braun (R-IN), Richard Shelby (R-AL), John Boozman (R-AR), Mitt Romney (R-UT), Marsha Blackburn (R-TN), Josh Hawley (R-MO), Jerry Moran (R-KS), Mike Rounds (R-SD), Cynthia Lummis (R-WY), Ron Johnson (R-WI), Thom Tillis (R-NC), Mike Lee (R-UT), Tim Scott (R-SC), Lisa Murkowski (R-AK), Jon Ossoff (D-GA), Alex Padilla (D-CA), Bob Casey (D-PA), Mark Warner (D-VA), Ben Ray Luján (D-NM) and John Hickenlooper (D-CO).

The resolution text is available HERE.