Senator Lankford, Inhofe Applaud Presidential Appointment of Oklahoman

WASHINGTON, DC – Senators James Lankford (R-OK) and Jim Inhofe (R-OK) today applauded the President’s nomination of University of Oklahoma Vice President Kelvin Droegemeier to be Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy. 

“Dr. Droegemeier is an incredibly capable researcher and a highly qualified scientist,” said Lankford. “He has served Oklahoma well at the University of Oklahoma and I am confident that he will serve our nation well as the new Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy. The nomination process is long and difficult, but I am proud that a fellow Oklahoman has stepped up to help lead our nation at this time.”

“Kelvin Drogemeier is a proven leader in science and technology and an excellent choice to lead the Office of Science and Technology Policy,” said Inhofe. “From his time as a professor and service on the National Science Board to his leadership as the Vice President for Research at the University of Oklahoma, he has demonstrated a commitment to the scientific process, an appreciation for investing in research and a dedication to advancing technical achievement. I congratulate Kelvin on his nomination and look forward to his swift confirmation.”

Dr. Droegemeier currently serves as Vice President for Research and Regents’ Professor of Meteorology at the University of Oklahoma and as Oklahoma Cabinet Secretary of Science and Technology. He co-founded and directed the National Science Foundation’s (NSF) Science and Technology Center for Analysis and Prediction of Storms and the NSF Engineering Research Center for Collaborative Adaptive Sensing of the Atmosphere. Dr. Droegemeier served two six-year terms (four years as Vice Chairman) on the National Science Board, under Presidents George W. Bush and Barack Obama. He earned his BS in meteorology from the University of Oklahoma and MS and PhD in atmospheric science from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Dr. Droegemeier is a Fellow of the American Meteorological Society and American Association for the Advancement of Science.