Lankford, Mullin Honor OU Women’s Gymnastics Second-Straight NCAA National Championship

WASHINGTON, DC – Senators James Lankford (R-OK) and Markwayne Mullin (R-OK) today introduced a resolution in the US Senate to honor the University of Oklahoma Women’s Gymnastics team for their National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) national championship win for a second-straight year and a sixth year out of the last nine. The OU Women’s Gymnastics program is one of the winningest programs of all time in the NCAA.

“What a great time for Sooner sports as OU Women’s Gymnastics wins their second-straight NCAA national championship,” said Lankford. “Congratulations to the team, Coach Kindler, AD Castiglione, President Harroz, and to everyone at OU for this tremendous victory, tying the program for second-most in NCAA history. We are proud to keep cheering you on along with the rest of the nation for this and every victory. Thanks for letting the entire nation see what you can do and who you are.”

“Congratulations to our outstanding Oklahoma Sooners Women’s Gymnastics team for taking home a 6th NCAA national championship in just nine years,” said Mullin. “These female athletes continue to dominate the competition at the highest levels of their sport—securing back-to-back national titles. Our Oklahoma Delegation is proud to congratulate these champions on another outstanding season, which places OU Gymnastics in the collegiate history books as one of the winningest NCAA women’s gymnastics teams of all time. Congratulations to Coach Kindler, President Harroz, and all the coaches, parents, and student athletes who made this victory possible.”