Senators Lankford, Rosen Statements on Executive Order to Combat Anti-Semitism

WASHINGTON, DC – Senators James Lankford (R-OK) and Jacky Rosen (D-NV), co-chairs of the Senate Bipartisan Task Force for Combating Anti-Semitism, released the following statements on today’s Executive Order that seeks to address anti-Semitism around the nation and specifically on college campuses and other educational settings. The Order, based largely on the Anti-Semitism Awareness Act, applies the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance’s (IHRA) definition of anti-Semitism, which is already used by the State Department, to the enforcement of Title VI of the Civil Rights Act.

“We must continue to prioritize combating anti-Semitism in our nation by ensuring every federal agency has the tools they need to help protect against and prevent anti-Semitic acts,” said Lankford. “With anti-Semitism on the rise, this Executive Order reassures the Oklahoma Jewish community and others around the country that anti-Semitic behavior will not be tolerated, particularly on our college campuses. We can and should protect our fundamental freedom to have and live a faith or to have no faith at all. Anti-Semitic attacks like the one at the Tree of Life Synagogue in Pittsburgh and potentially the attack this week in Jersey City do not represent our American values of religious liberty or freedom. I look forward to continuing to partner with Senator Rosen to raise awareness about anti-Semitism and highlight areas where we are making important changes to combat it.”

“I have long-supported adoption of the International Holocaust Remembrance Alliance (IHRA) definition of anti-Semitism, which was included in today’s Executive Order on anti-Semitism in education. It’s why I’m a cosponsor of the bipartisan Anti-Semitism Awareness Act,” said Rosen. “We must continue to work to stop hate before it starts.”

Earlier this year, Lankford and Rosen launched the Senate Bipartisan Task Force for Combating Anti-Semitism.

Lankford attended the Executive Order signing ceremony today at the White House.